This monument symbolizes Delaware as the first state to sign the Constitution. It is stainless steel and bronze set in a stone base. The cube has inscribed portions of the Constitution etched into a stainless steel surface. The 13-foot quill is bronze.

The stainless steel cube stands on a point representing the delicate balance of the three branches of the federal government. The polished letters reflect the surrounding landscape and are meant to be a symbol of the Constitution’s reflection of the changing human landscape of the country. The stars and stripes pattern is representational of the flag of the original thirteen states. The central star stands for the creed of individual human liberty proclaimed in the Declaration of Independence; that “all men are created equal” and are equally endowed with unalienable rights. Accenting the central sculpture is a low serpentine wall which bears granite caps inscribed with the names of the thirteen original states and the dates they ratified the Constitution. The nib or point of the quill is pointing to Delaware, the first state to ratify the Constitution. It was dedicated in 1987. The sculptor is Rick Rothrock.

Share This